I'm going to be checking in once a month on where I'm at with my 2024 Goals!

Overally, January has not been a fruitful month for me in this specific way. There's a whole lot of "not really"s on my list. I even ended up breaking my weekly streaks for all of my creative goals (fic/art/game dev), which I've had going for months. But I've been busy! School started back up, interpersonal nonsense happened, I started pursuing gender affirming surgery instead of just daydreaming about it... and, okay, yeah, to address the elephant in the room Neocities has grabbed my attention so thoroughly that that's been where I've put most of my free time lately.

Creativity

Game Dev

I've done a little bit of work on Inn Need, but not nearly enough. I'm still not done with my beta changes. I'm going to try to finish that by the end of February. I think I need to start regularly carving out time to work on it.

Art

An 'I want to draw' 5 by 5 bingo. The template is by Alma K. Rowan. The prompts are: aro pride, old art redraw, Saw fanart, use Rebelle metallic brush, Umineko fanart, armor, Archivist Wasp fanart, finish pre-2023 WIP, femslash, Rhenegade fanart, Elementary fanart, watercolor (digital), Free Space: Te'ijal, Poker Face fanart, tarot card, complete background, short comic, non-Aveyond RPG Maker fanart, friend OC, art based on my own fic, art meme, te'ijalahad, screenshot redraw, captioned with a lyric, flowers. Only femslash has been crossed out.

I got... one piece of art done this month - an Olivier/Izumi piece for my friend's birthday - but I've started more. I started a piece of Mal and 22 from Firebreak, which I'm going to let myself count for the Archivist Wasp box. Very tentative goal to finish that in February.

Fanfic

An 'I want to write' 5 by 5 bingo. The template is inspired by Alma K. Rowan. The prompts are: Devin & Alicia, Rhen & Galahad, awkward exes, Little Mermaid AU, psychological torture, Te'ijal & Rashnu, injury recovery, Saw AU, songfic, finish an existing WIP, Te'ijal & Stella, Edward centric, Free Space: Te'ijal, hurt/comfort, Galahad POV, multi-chapter, Galahad re: magic, Te'ijal/Beatrice (catty) exes, Lars POV, Rhen/Dameon divorce, non-chronological, Rhending, nymphs, militant squirrel lore, Stella & Galahad. A note in the corner marks that Rhen & Galahad and hurt/comfort were prompted together, as were Galahad POV and Galahad re: magic.

Yeah I didn't finish any fic this month. I made tiny progress on something called "Five Times Te'ijal and Galahad Tried to Get Divorced", which will count for both "finish an existing WIP" and the Te'ijal free space. The rough draft is done - and has been done - but I'm having a lot of trouble getting the tone right.

Media

My reading goal is to read 20 books, and I've already read 2, so I'm counting that as a win.


The goal to get through the Umineko Question Arcs is going great. Danny and I finished Episode 3 last week, so now we just have Episode 4! The first few chapters took us 4-6 months each, but we're going to try to get the rest done in about three months each if we can.

"Play more RPG Maker games" is definitely the least quantifiable of my goals, but I'm doing well on that one, too - I've continued both Absinthia, which I started in December, and Super Lesbian Animal RPG, which Danny and I started last January - this month.

Cooking

My cooking goals were learn how to bake bread and learn how to make a type of sushi with raw fish. Neither happened this month; learning new cooking skills is like, the most intimidating thing to me while I'm in classes. Maybe over my spring break in March?